Pyro Bucket Bag

I had the idea to do a literal ‘bucket’ bucket bag, but with some wraparound artwork burned into the leather. This bag project is the one that took me the longest–I estimate around 48 hours of work (on and off)!

IMG_8568

I got this fine graphing paper from Lory, an art store in Florence, on the recommendation of a classmate of mine. It’s great for detail work but ultimately not necessary if you’re adept enough with making patterns and cutting. You can be as precise as you want with tracing the patterns onto here but being as precise in the cutting is a whole other story. I basically ended up just measuring everything out again onto the leather directly.

IMG_9604

The slow process of pyrography. The whole drawing took me around 8 hours.

The completed drawing (I didn’t really have a theme or idea in mind when I started. I was basically just drawing random things and trying out different techniques with the pyro tool):

IMG_9673

Then my teacher Stefano suggested that we use a black-tinted leather grease to finish it with so that it would bring out the linework

IMG_9957

Looking good.

Then it was time to stitch the bucket together.

IMG_0059

IMG_0068

To go with the graphic quality of the bag, I decided to use a cross stitch instead of a normal stitch. Since the artwork theme is quite dark, I thought the cross stitch would look good with it

IMG_0071

Cross stitching was a slow and painful process (my fingers were really sore after), and required some Friends accompaniment :)) Cross-stitching took me about 30-40 hours in total

IMG_0081

IMG_0578

Attaching the base

IMG_0582

Then I put a stormy grey pig skin leather lining to complete the bag (I wish I had had a bigger piece that could be fully drawn closed, but I didn’t have any at the time

IMG_8213

And of course some feet to protect the base

IMG_8215

IMG_8218

IMG_8275

IMG_8276
Took it around Boboli Gardens in Florence for a mini photoshoot for my school portfolio; love how the leather looks in the sun!

IMG_0738

IMG_9722

IMG_9731

IMG_9743

IMG_9785

IMG_9795

IMG_9849

img_6530

And here it is after more than a year of aging, with the Ponte Vecchio in the background. So golden! ❤

img_1675

One comment on “Pyro Bucket Bag

Leave a Reply

