Man Bag

I had this rather huge chunk of vegetable-tanned leather left (the same one I used for my Pyro Bag) and thought it would make for a nice men’s work/laptop bag, so I decided to make a man bag for my brother (happy graduation!)

IMG_8251

It has to fit a 15″ laptop and general work stuff, so the bag ended up being a pretty big project with a lot of rather muscle-building maneuvering

IMG_8253

IMG_8367

Pieces ready to be sewn. My brother said he preferred to leave the leather uncolored and natural, so that saved me the long step of coloring and drying haha

IMG_8374

Then I couldn’t quite decide if I liked the brown thread or black thread more with it. In the end, I experimented with using alternating black and brown, which I think works pretty well and is a nice little detail that makes the bag a bit more special.

IMG_8471

I’m pretty happy at my markedly improved hand-stitching quality hahaha. The back is still not as clean though, so I really have to work on that.

IMG_8551

I have to attach all the elements onto the bag first before I can sew up the sides–the strap hooks, handles, pockets, etc.

IMG_8582

Then comes the challenge of sewing up the sides, including the rounded edge

IMG_8583

I must have sewn for nearly ten hours while binge-watching movies and TV series. Sore fingers afterwards.

IMG_8586

But seeing the result, I knew it was worth it.

IMG_0733

The completed man bag with buckle closure and detachable, adjustable shoulder straps, 100% cut and sewn by hand. The bag can fit a 15″ laptop (or two, or three), plus documents, books, etc.

IMG_8594

IMG_8596

I made the top have these double flaps which you can open while holding the bag by the handles or in the crook of your arm. Useful, I think, since I personally hate having to set my bag down when I have to get something from inside, or having to dangle the bag precariously on your knee or by one strap when you have to access your stuff.

IMG_8598

All the flap edges bear decorative stitches in the same alternating black-and-brown style

IMG_0507

IMG_8620

And of course, the ever-important bag feet to protect the leather

img_6535

I did use a pretty heavy 3mm thick piece of leather though, so the bag is quite heavy even with nothing inside. I suppose it’s a good thing then that it’s a man bag. I’ll just tell my brother it’ll be like lifting some light weights throughout the day?

IMG_0523

Inside, I left it unlined due to the weight of the bag as it is. I debated at first whether or not to add lining, but I figured that my brother usually keeps the laptop inside a sleeve anyway, and the unlined interior shouldn’t be a problem for other stuff like papers or books, so it should work out okay.

IMG_0533

All in all, not bad for my first go at making a men’s bag, although I might use a lighter leather next time so I can add the lining without making the bag too heavy. In any case, I think I’ve got some more ideas for man bags up my sleeves…

IMG_0527

img_6611

One comment on “Man Bag

Leave a Reply

