Sling Wallet

I wanted to make my own version of a “chain wallet” / sling wallet, which I thought would be quite efficient because it allows me to tackle two types of bags in one go (a wallet and a sling bag).

IMG_8615

Since I’m not usually a small-bag kind of person, I couldn’t make the sling have just one compartment for a wallet. I definitely planned it out so that there would a second compartment for phones, tissue, earphones, and whatnot.

IMG_8617

For the bag exterior, I used this saffiano-like leather (which, funnily enough, is from Korea or something. Not Italy.)

IMG_8929

I had originally planned on making the bag entirely out of this semi-damaged exotic skin, but the skin was curling too much to be used for large pieces, so I had to settle for using them on pockets and slots instead.

IMG_9168

Card slots! And I ended up using this thin black calf leather for the interior lining

IMG_9166

So as not to waste the pieces I had already cut, I also used some of the exotic skin for some decorative stripes on the exterior

IMG_9171

This bag was supposed to be entirely machine-sewn, but because I had a free weekend and an itch to hand-stitch (rhyme not intended), I ended up sewing the rest of the bag by hand.

IMG_9441

In order for both sides to match (to have all the elements of exotic skin, saffiano leather, black leather, and yellow contrast stitching), I had the idea to use some scrap black calf leather to make a kooky face on one side of the bag, with contrast yellow stitching to create the lips and outlines.

IMG_1341

The bag’s “serious” side, with a twist clasp closure

IMG_1743

And flipped over, the bag’s “fun” side, aka the wallet side.

IMG_0701

Wallet interior. Wallet side has zip closure with two pullers so it can be locked.

IMG_9490

IMG_9491

The completed sling wallet.

IMG_0736

Leave a Reply

