Blue Stripe

My sister’s birthday was coming up, and since she liked my first handmade box bag, I decided to make her one for her birthday, with slight design changes of course.

IMG_9454

First I cut and dyed the leather. My little dyeing station/ cutting room is kind of makeshift-y, but alas–that’s studio apartment livin’ for ya. I had actually planned on dyeing the whole bag blue, but I underestimated just how much dye is needed, so I ended up having just enough for the sides and the middle stripe.

IMG_9466

Since I now have a stash of fun-colored thread from my recent hoarding spree, I thought it would be cute to have contrast stitching for this bag. This bright, rich orange color worked best with both the blue and the camel leather.

IMG_9467

IMG_9474

Hours pass this way.

IMG_9549

And finally, the completed box bag. I used a different clasp than the first box bag, as well as a slightly thinner leather. Although it functions fine, I think I prefer the thicker leather used with the first one, since it held its shape better and just felt sturdier to me overall.

IMG_9992

But since this is a small shoulder bag and not a giant weekender, this thinner leather should do just fine.

img_6568

I also cut out a groove into the leather so the stitches would “sit” in it. The effect is quite interesting too. It doesn’t have the same ‘slant’ as my usual stitch.

img_6531

Detachable, adjustable shoulder straps too, of course.

IMG_0730

HBD.

One comment on “Blue Stripe

Leave a Reply

