IntrecciaTote

I wanted to try my hand at a fully woven bag, a la Bottega Veneta, wherein even around the edges the weave is continuous without sewing. Unlike Bottega Veneta, a lot of other brands are actually able to order the leather pre-woven in large sheets, and there are even leathers with a ‘fake weave’ wherein the weave design is stamped or mimicked.

IMG_9042

Learning the hard version of things was, of course, the way I chose to go. I made a small paper test version on an old box of tea, and after trying this and that, decided on a diagonal weave, which is more difficult (I think) to do but is more efficient in its usage of the leather.

IMG_9057

You have no idea how long it took to manually cut all these 1-cm strips :((

IMG_9061

I cut up one whole piece of thin vegetable tanned leather (less than 1mm thick I think), but I didn’t use it all up because of the size of the box/ model I ended up using, which was smaller than the bag I had initially planned on making. I used the largest boxes I could find around the apartment, which were two boxes of Swiffer refills packed together.

IMG_9062

The tricky edges

IMG_9065

Slow progress

IMG_9068

And plenty of masking tape to hold things together as I weave

IMG_9079

One of the hardest parts of doing this is maintaining the tightness of the weave all throughout. I had to keep adjusting and pulling the strips tighter (my clothespins weren’t the best tools for this, but I was making do) in order to keep the spacing even and the shape right.

IMG_9082

You can see the green Swiffer boxes underneath :))

IMG_9084

IMG_9088

IMG_9091

Pretty happy with how it’s turning out, although it’s not as tightly woven as I would like it to be. I couldn’t tighten it much more, though, because when I tried to do so, I broke one of the strips and that kind of messed up my long-weave plans for this bag.

IMG_9093

After this point, I was a bit stuck as to what to do next, like how to end it when the edges were all uneven.

IMG_0294

I decided to stitch closed each strip just to hold everything in place without the use of the clips

IMG_0296

I didn’t trim too much off the excess thread because this part would likely be covered up anyway

IMG_0758

Normally this would be done before the weaving starts, but I figured I could still do it with a makeshift dye bath. Spot the gloves and tray from the 99 cent store :))

IMG_1252

After I dyed the base black, I attached a strip of natural-coloured vegetable tanned leather to make up the rest of the bag’s body. Because the woven bag didn’t have even edges, I was glad to find that I could use the uncut edges of the leather to match the uneven lines of the woven part and make it look like design. This way, as opposed to a straight edge, less of the woven bag is wasted/ hidden.

IMG_1255

After holding the two parts in place with some glue, I stitched them together with a wide running stitch that doubled as a decorative stitch. I decided to use wider stitches because I figured that small stitches would likely poke too many holes into the weave and decrease its integrity/ strength, especially because this was a thinner leather.

IMG_1257

The seam is also the natural uncut edge of the leather, adding another design element to the bag.

IMG_1260

The two parts attached.

IMG_1261

IMG_1265

IMG_1266

I did a simple rectangular lining out of thin black calfskin and attached it to the interior of the bag

IMG_1277

After sewing it together using the same running stitch, I worked on adding handles with 2mm-thick strips of vegetable tanned leather.

IMG_1707

The completed IntrecciaTote

IMG_1741

IMG_1742

IMG_7520

Some cool detail shots where you can really see the grain of the leather:

img_6592

img_6606

And here’s the bag on an impromptu shoot at the Bardini Gardens in Florence 🙂

img_6619

My favourite thing about vegetable tanned leather is how beautifully it ages–here’s a look at the leather on this tote after more than a year of use:

img_6505

Mind you, this was with rough-to-moderate use, so it has gotten rained on, tossed around, bathed in extreme sunlight, whathaveyou–I love the character it has gotten over the past year or so that I’ve been using it, and it’s only going to get cooler and richer the longer it ages and the more it gets used! ❤

Leave a Reply

