Double Box Bag

IMG_9552

I found myself on a sort of box bag streak, so for this third one (this one is the first, and this one is the second) I wanted to add a second compartment as well as a pocket or two, inspired by the Céline box bag, but done entirely by hand (Céline’s is machine-sewn, at least based on my inspection haha) and using vegetable tanned leather.

IMG_0174

And also in continuing with my alternating-colored-thread style, I decided to make the bag a classic black, but add a subtle fun element with alternating red and teal thread.

IMG_0257

The construction, in theory, is not too difficult, but putting the bag together IRL was a wrestling match with the leather. I’ve only got two hands and it felt like I needed at least one more to hold things together while I sewed things in place. I decided against using glue (which functions as the third hand) in order to improve the flap’s foldover-ability (I don’t know what it’s really called), as well as to be able to include an additional pocket in between the two pieces of leather.

IMG_0306

I really liked the effect of the blue and red on the black. I chose blue and red because I meant for this to be an everyday-able sort of bag, and the pops of color should be versatile enough to match a lot of things.

IMG_0310

The completed double box bag:

img_6560

Open, it looks like a cartoon monster, doesn’t it? Haha

IMG_1209

Finished with this gold buckle, as well as detachable adjustable shoulder strap (like the Céline box bag, removing the strap allows this to be used as a clutch. Although my bag came out a tad too large to be a comfy clutch)

IMG_0428

Leave a Reply

