Hunting Bag

IMG_8353

When my brother requested that I make him a small day bag (I had previously made him a gigantic man bag that really was the size of a weekender bag), it was a great opportunity for me to experiment a bit, because almost everything I had been making up to that point had been women’s bags.

IMG_8410

I basically took our box bag and made it N/S orientation (which is the shape I usually see on man bags from Gucci, Bottega Veneta, Louis Vuitton, etc., except usually with a zip or some sort of magnet closure), and, realizing I didn’t really buy any manly-looking bag closures, tried out this carabiner.

IMG_8434

Finished with contrast blue and white stitches (my brother’s favorite colors). Pretty happy with how it turned out although my brother reckons the closure is a bit hard to manage if you’re in a hurry.

A few months later, I actually ended up sealing the front and opening up the back flap to insert a magnet closure, making the front design a faux front (take that, bag snatchers?) I don’t know yet how convenient that’s going to be but I’ll definitely be on the lookout for man-bag-appropriate hardware the next time I’m sourcing in Italy :))

Leave a Reply

