The Row Margaux Bag Honest Review

By sheer chance, I had taken photos and inspected The Row’s Margaux bag (I think this is like a small one though) back in 2022 in Paris, before there was that whole kerfuffle about them trying to market it as the next Hermès Birkin. Right off the bat, they are miles away. I was thoroughly unimpressed. The only thing they share is maybe the absence of a logo :))

I do think this is a decent bag. The stitches are clean and consistent, but very clearly machine-sewn. The leather feels very ordinary–better than the leather you’d get with a Michael Kors or Kate Spade or Polene Bag, maybe, but not quite the same as the more luxe leathers you’re expecting at this price point. It doesn’t feel as plasticky, but it does come off as somewhat thin & flimsy. It too has been shaved down considerably to make it lighter. I know you want lighter bags, but no heft also means likely not much leather, y’all. And isn’t the leather largely what you’re paying for? :\

The side buckle adjustment seems to be one of the main design points of this bag.

You’ll also notice that the leather is quite prone to scratches

Especially visible here in the next photo of the bag interior

This smaller size comes with shoulder straps that I think are detachable via gemini button. I must also point out that the location of the shoulder strap’s D-ring is at a fatal stitch area (meaning it’s a strap that is load-bearing, but it is attached to the bag body via a row of small horizontal stitches that will eventually, given enough force or stuff in the bag, act as a perforation line and be likelier to rip there)

If you look at the upper left corner of the bag in the next photo, you can also see how the construction at that leather junction is a little messy/ fussy.

The interior lining is just fabric, which I also feel is more for the lightweight feature, more than the luxe element or strength of the bag.

Bag is open except for a simple toggle closure

While its build seems solid, it’s also a little too basic (so basic that even the leather isn’t upgraded haha) for a bag that’s almost 4000€ (for the small size)

I hadn’t read anything about them trying to be the American Hermès or Birkin at this point (this was July 2022), but knowing that now and having inspected this bag way back then–it was shocking to me that they would even make such a statement :))

Suffice to say, I am not of the same opinion as the (admittedly) sly marketing folks over at The Row (and I mean sly is sly because even if their claim is totally false, people will keep talking about and looking for the Margaux to either try to prove the statement right or wrong, amirite?)

I think I’m just overall disappointed because this was also one of the brands whose aesthetic I had loved from afar, especially with their propensity for black leather and all. But if they looked very basic, I thought that they would at least feel uber uber luxe in your hands. But that wasn’t the case, either. I don’t know if they ever go on sale, but that’s probably the only time I’d ever consider buying a bag from them. Another episode of bag brand *disillusionment*

**I do not dissuade people from buying bags, but at least here’s a bit more info before you decide**

5 comments on “The Row Margaux Bag Honest Review

    • Looking forward to hearing your feedback on the Berluti once you use it! Re: Hermès, based on my inspections, I do often feel like the leather tends to be quite thin BUT if we also consider the state of vintage Hermès pieces, seeing what good shape they’re in–we can gather that the leather is of excellent quality and the workmanship holds up. Personally, my sister and I like (and even prefer!) to get Hermès at vintage shops because of the freedom of selection (no hoops to jump through or quotas to meet). So far we’ve had very positive experiences in the vintage shops in Tokyo in terms of selection and the quality of the vintage pieces. This could be a great option for men’s leather goods as well 🙂

      Like

  1. Finally, an honest review of The Row bags with detailed photos. They keep popping up on social media and on the stylist substacks that it made me wonder. Their clothing must be of better make for the price.

    Like

Leave a comment