Moynat Bags Honest Review

*all photos from Moynat’s site and Instagram because I wasn’t able to take photos while inspecting it*

I fell in love with Moynat bags a long time ago, it must have been 2013 or so, when going to Florence to learn bag-making was just a tiny inkling in my mind and not yet a reality at that point. As luck (and some intention) would have it, I was finally able to get my hands on and inspect it (fawn over it, more like) in person in 2014/2015, while on Christmas break from the aforementioned bag-making course.

In terms of handbags, my holy grail trinity of brands are: Moynat, Moreau (my review here), and Delvaux (my review here). These are the 3 that I have personally inspected, and have seen that they are hand-stitched, of excellent make, and whose quality is definitely up to par for their tier of luxury, which is at the same level as Hermès, IMHO.

I do not include Hermès in my holy trinity because there are just some aspects of the brand that I do not like–and this is just my OWN OPINION. The aspects include, but are not limited to: their borderline unfriendly staff; their whole “method” of purchase which seems ridiculously pretentious to me; and, for a supposedly über-luxury brand, they are frighteningly ubiquitous and, puzzlingly, dress people like the Kardashians, who do not at all seem to be on brand, or if they ARE on brand for Hermès, then I definitely do not want to be associated with that. So as much as their bags are the gold standard, I feel like the prices have become insanely inflated, and the three I mentioned (Moynat, Moreau, Delvaux) give you just as much quality for a lot less snobbery and pretension.

Luxury brands like these (and any brand, really) benefit SO MUCH (I cannot underscore that enough) from excellent staff, especially the ones dealing with/ talking with customers in stores. In Hermès, it was more like a meat market (and this was in at least two different branches in Paris), trying to find a sales associate to assist you as a walk-in was near impossible. It was like they were doing you a favor. That really irked me. In stark comparison, the staff we encountered at Moynat, Moreau, and Delvaux (all in Paris) were very polite, open, and more than happy to assist us with the different styles we wanted to look at, or questions we had. They were most curious about how we came to know about the brand, and smiled when I said, “instagram” haha (I did a lot of research online and via insta for my bag making classes)

So, getting back to Moynat. They are also one of those super old heritage French brands that started out making trunks in the 1800s. They’ve since modernized and adapted that concept, and I love all their bags, basically.

REJANE LINE

The Réjane is one of their signature styles, and it is impeccably made. For me it has a lot more character than the Hermès, but priced pretty fairly at under 4000€ (exotic leather versions would cost more, of course). I really like that they also designed and patented their own locks, which really do set their bags apart.

IMG_0881

IMG_8637

REJANE CROC

I found this photo on their site:

REJANE EDGE

The edge work is impeccable too–painted and polished 8 times is no joke, btw–we typically do at least 3 or 4, and most other brands probably do that or less. They also have a lot of custom hardware that serve specific purposes for their bags. Like look at how they have a custom ring for the handles that also have extra little rings for the detachable strap–you can’t just buy that stuff ready-made.

Cute little story about the Réjane too (pronounced, “reh-zhan” by the staff at the store):

REJANE STORY

They also have an evening version:

REJANE EVENING

And a really cute saddle version too:

REJANE SADDLE

The Cabotin style is also one of my faves, and one of the reasons why is because I know how difficult it is to make. Plus points again for their custom patented hardware (that’s my hardware goals, btw. I want my own patented hardware too haha)

CABOTIN

I tend to like bags that have some pop or cultural reference, and this just gives me grade school lunchbox vibes but POSH.

IMG_9629

Another of their signature styles, the Pauline. This is a great option if you’re after a minimalist, classic look, without hardware.

IMG_8636

IMG_9528
I also appreciate that they highlight very handmade add-ons as well, such as hand-painting on leather, marquetry, etc.

PAULINE

The Gabrielle–perfect for those whose name starts with an “M”, I guess? Haha although I do like the clever closure.

GABRIELLE PAIR

GABRIELLE CLUTCH
Clutch version of the Gabrielle

GABRIELLE LOCK

GABRIELLE

The Fleur, which is a wonderfully vintage-ish bucket bag that I can totally see full of flowers and baguettes and carried by the quintessential Frenchwoman. I don’t generally like large logos or branding, but in this version, burned/stamped into the leather like that, I feel like it lends to the vintage vibe.

IMG_8629

FLEUR PINK

The Quattro leather tote. I personally am a fan of an all-leather tote over a canvas/coated canvas one. And this one is an excellent, basic one that’s got two handles (top handle and shoulder straps), which is always a plus for me. Comes in N/S and E/W versions.

QUATTRO TOTE

QUATTRO HORIZONTAL

IMG_0742

But if I did have to pick a canvas/ coated canvas type of tote, Moynat and Moreau both have excellent ones that are, IMHO, made better than Goyard’s. This one’s the OH! Tote, and you may have also seen variations of this with the funny monster faces (although those are more kitschy and these are more classic–both versions are good).

MOYNAT

OH TOTE

Their updated trunks are also cute because they retain their signature curved bottoms (meant to follow the shape of the cars where the trunks were usually placed/attached, and in some photos they seem to also follow the shape of the stone banisters of staircases around Paris, where I guess people might set their bags down?).

LIMOUSINE 20

LIMOUSINE BRIEFCASE

LIMOUSINE VANITY

And they also have a soft version of the Limousine trunk, with the same curved shape

LIMOUSINE

And adorable marquetry–which I LOVE and are so difficult to create perfectly. Those are all pieces of leather that have been cut to create the illustration, put together almost like a puzzle.

MARQUETRY

The mini vanity is something I’ve also always loved. It’s really cute, but also really difficult to make, especially so pristinely.

MINI VANITY

You can check out more styles over at Moynat’s website or instagram.

So if you’re ready to go past the previous luxury tier of the more well-known but machine-sewn bags (i.e. YSL, Givenchy, Fendi, Gucci, etc.), and into this next tier of truly high end handmade goodness, then skip the Hermès and maybe try Moynat (or Moreau or Delvaux) instead!

*2022 update: new photos to be added soon! This is also to note that the Rejane bag is now around 4-5000€ (in comparison to 3-4000€ back in 2013 ish)

21 comments on “Moynat Bags Honest Review

    • Yes, I was just recently able to get photos (I wasn’t able to take any photos during my first few visits with the bag haha) when the bag was finally available locally. Will post soon!

      Like

  1. As I’ve been diving into more research and narrowing my list of “wants” I’ve cut a few brands off my list. Would love to hear your thoughts on Loewe bags (puzzle), Strathberry (allegro), Polene (un), and the ever so pricey Chanel’s out there.

    Like

    • Hi! Loewe puzzle bag looks to be of pretty good quality. The areas that would concern me are the spaces in between the “puzzle” pieces as these are thinner (to be able to fold) and likely to trap dust and dirt. But other than that, if you’re looking in that price range, it seems like a decent option. For Strathberry, I haven’t been able to examine one up close, but they look to be on par with the quality of similarly-priced bags. Polene also looks ok in photos but I haven’t examined one in person. For Chanel, it’s all about whether or not you’re willing to pay the “hype” fee, because I definitely feel like the steep price increases in the last several years are pretty crazy. But the value seems to be holding (for the classic colors and styles, at least), so if it’s within your budget and you really like the design and usability, then go for it! But if you feel the bag is overpriced, I’d really recommend Moynat, Delvaux, and Moreau.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks so much for the reco! I actually started looking into Moynat, Delvaux, and Moreau based on your previous statements in your blog posts. As I’ve just begun my collection, I’m starting on the lower end price wise and will one day save enough to splurge on those. I also agree with your statement on the Chanel hype, although might see if i can get one on the preloved market as i can not justify paying that absurd amount especially with the two recent price hikes. But not anytime soon, the other bags I mentioned and you listed are much higher on my list than Chanel. Keep up the awesome reviews!!

        Like

  2. I owned both moynat Gabrielle and Delvaux tempete bag and their bags are incredible. I’d say moynat bag quality is a notch higher than Delvaux, in my opinion. With that say, I’m looking to add Valextra iside to my collection. Consider my point of view on moynat and Delvaux, would you recommend me to buy Valextra, how’s their quality? Or should I skip it together and go for another moynat bag (Gabrielle pm)?

    Like

    • Thanks for your input! As for the Valextra, it depends on your use. It has a more plasticky coating so if you’re after the leather-feel, then this won’t have it. But I think the coating will work well for preventing scratches and for daily carry especially if you’re not too precious with your bags and (like me) tend to hit table corners and doorways with your bag hahaha. It was quite light and felt sturdy but you’d have to get the input as well of someone who has had one for a longer time to see how it ages and performs long term. Happy bag shopping!

      Like

  3. Hey Genevieve!

    I’ve been following your blog for a while and I really appreciate all the educational content that you’ve been putting out!

    So I’ve been looking for a work bag now and I’m considering the Moynat Duo Tote. However, I’m worried that the bag would not be able to hold my ~2kg laptop as the bag is unlined. I would really appreciate your two cents on this!

    I would be grateful if you could offer me other alternatives for a work bag as well! I’m currently struggling to find one that would fit my 15″ laptop and hold it’s weight.

    -Ella

    Like

    • Hi Ella, thank you so much! I think the duo tote is technically leather on both sides since it’s reversible. The handles are stitched all the way down and under the bag as well so that should help with the weight. I have not looked at this in person, though, so I cannot say for sure how sturdy it feels. Other options are Moreau’s Vincennes or Bregancon tote which have versions that are reversible and leather on both sides (one side plain leather and one side monogrammed leather, not to be confused for the versions that are coated canvas or not reversible). These feel solid but are also slightly heavy. So if you can try them both out in person that would be ideal to see which will work with your laptop best. Not sure if they can fit 15″, but I believe they come in multiple sizes. If you’ve got local crafters’ markets as well, they might be worth checking out since local leather crafters might be able to make you a custom-sized tote with extra reinforcement to make sure it can handle your laptop’s weight (I get similar requests here when it comes to custom bags haha) Hope that helps, happy shopping!

      Like

Leave a comment