Bottega Veneta Intrecciato Bags Honest Review

The lighting in the room was a bit off so the color isn’t quite right, but this is a Bottega Veneta leather intrecciato tote in a deep wine (purply-burgundy-brown) color, open style with carabiner clasp closure, with a zippered interior pocket and an open interior pocket, and semi adjustable handles. At the time that this photo was taken, the bag is about 4 years old or so.

We were actually pretty lucky to have scored this at The Mall (a high-end outlet mall in Florence), because usually they only have the off colors at the outlet. We were able to get this wine-colored one as well as a black zippered hobo intrecciato bag which my mom now uses. This open tote was less than 2000€, while the black hobo was less than 1000€. Not bad deals considering this is still one of the brands that does this intrecciato weave by hand.

I wholly appreciated the intrecciato weave look and technique only a few years ago, when I made one such bag for school, and discovered for myself just how painstakingly time-consuming and technical it is.

As I have come to learn via inspection/ studying Bottega Veneta’s bags, they do 2 types of intrecciato weave. Intrecciato, I think, basically means that the bag has been fully woven all around and as one piece, and not stamped with a woven pattern or woven as separate panels then stitched together (which are common practices and the easier way to do woven bags).

The first kind of intrecciato I’ve seen, is the typical one you think of, which is that the whole bag is woven from several strips of leather very much in the way that a basket would be woven. I’ve seen photos from the brand which show that they do this weave around a wooden form, such as for the big totes. This is the technique that I myself tried. I didn’t have wooden models, so I actually used 2 Swiffer refill boxes taped together to form the shape of the base of my bag :)) And my leather strips were not nearly long enough, so only the bottom half of my bag is intrecciato, and I attached another piece of leather for the top. But I digress..

Now the second type of intrecciato is what we see here, and is what I’ve seen with most of Bottega Veneta’s products in-store. It’s made with sheets of leather that have been cut with tiny slats where the leather strips would pass through to create the woven look. If you look closely, you will see that there are parts of the leather that aren’t fully separated, which shows us that these aren’t the traditional woven leather strips, but sheets through which leather strips have been woven through. I guess it’s still technically woven. Not sure which weave construction yields a sturdier bag, but so far this one has performed well enough. My sister has used it for her big camera (a Canon 5D Mark 4 with a gigantic 24-700mm lens, the whole setup weighing like a small baby) plus her stuff when we travel, and that’s usually a good test of a bag’s sturdiness :)) It’s not the most lightweight because it’s lined and has hardware, but lighter than a lot of other bags, and it folds flat so you can pack it as an extra bag when you travel.

Below, you can see photos of the bottom corners of the bag. No stitch seam, so it is fully intrecciato or woven all around as one piece

The edge is a bit wonky where several strips meet but I think this is to be expected, and it doesn’t affect the strength or build of the bag anyhow

Below you can see more clearly what I mean about the 2nd type of intrecciato:

It’s a nice combination with the wine color to have the gunmetal semi-matte hardware

Interior label

Unique carabiner-type closure also in semi-matte gunmetal hardware

The bag was woven by hand, but I think these other details were probably already machine-stitched. But I won’t judge them too harshly for that, since the weaving was a lot of work already :)) But you can see how the machine stitches now look somewhat sub-par and blah compared to all the handiwork of the weaving

Interior zippered pocket. Maialino (pig skin leather) lining in a greige/taupe color

Hidden zipper detail

Machine stitched, with edge paint. Standard finishing.

Another interior pocket that’s open and made with the same lining material (maialino pig skin leather). Not quite big enough for a phone but I usually put a small bottle of hand sanitizer here

I have become quite partial (although my wallet has not. haha) to brands that still try to focus on handmade leather bags. To me, it has more value (if done well, that is) and therefore justifies a higher price tag. How high you’re willing to spend for such a piece is up to you, but I would have more faith in how it’s made, and it would likely have better service and warranty as well.

Bottega Veneta joins the elite club of high end handmade leather goods that includes Hermès, Moynat, Delvaux, Moreau, etc. (a small club), but the unique thing about Bottega is that you can score some great pieces at the outlet (you have to be selective about it though, especially with the colors), without any dilution or degradation of the brand esteem or prestige.

While those other brands don’t really do sales or outlets, Bottega is at the more accessible midway point because it’s still seen as being very premium due to its logo-less aesthetic and focus on hand weaving, but it having an outlet means that you can really chance upon some gems without breaking the bank as much as you would with the other brands I mentioned.

15 comments on “Bottega Veneta Intrecciato Bags Honest Review

  1. If you take a photo of the white authenticity tag you’ll find inside the zippered pocket (it’s sewn into the lning) I can tell you what color this is. It ‘looks like’ Ebano (brown) which is a color that Bottega Veneta actually had copyrighted.

    Like

    • Oh cool, thanks for that! I do remember seeing that in the pocket but I wasn’t able to take a photo of it. Will definitely check it the next time I have this bag out of storage (i.e. out from under a pile of other bags haha)

      Like

  2. I don’t understand what added value a woven bag brings. Twice the the material means twice the weight; all those edges seem exponentially to increase the risk of snagging, fraying or just generally getting damaged particularly on clothes and jewelry. With all that said, from an artisan’s perspective what are the benefits of intrecciato woven bags?

    Like

    • Hi Tracy,

      With regard to fraying, snagging, etc., I think this would only be an issue for fabrics or any material that runs or frays. If a woven leather bag has been made well, the weave will be tight and solid. So far, we have not experienced any snagging or damage on the edges of the Bottega or even on my own woven bag that I made, but only time will tell. Also, it would indeed be twice as heavy if the leather used is a thick one. But I think a lot of woven leather bags use a thinner, more supple leather, so it actually isn’t as thick or heavy as you might expect. Again, this isn’t a generalization, but a lot of it would depend on the appropriate leather used (for example, a stiff or brittle leather would not be suitable for a woven bag, necessarily), as well as how well the weaving is done. Personally, I think that a well-woven bag’s benefit is that the weight is distributed across the woven pieces. My sister was able to carry her big DSLR (a Canon 5D Mark IV with a 24-70L lens, which is a very very heavy camera setup) and personal things in the bag, and so far it hasn’t suffered any damage from that.

      Like

      • Thank you for replying so thoroughly to my comment! I really appreciate it. Ah, that’s a good point. No seams to create pressure points. I hadn’t considered that. Could I ask you another, unrelated question? Of all the direct-to-customer minimalist leather tote bag brands (Everlane, Cuyana, Linjer, etc) which have you inspected and recommend if any?

        Like

        • Alas, sadly I have only admired from afar but have not tried buying any from those brands yet (Everlane is one of the ones I have my eye on though)–mostly because shipping leather goods to Manila often goes through a rather corrupt process which ruins the experience and the price. A few years ago, I had a haul of leather shoes I got on sale from Nasty Gal and other online shops, and with the “customs” “taxes” and whatnot, I ended up paying double the value of the goods. I think it’s a lot easier and a lot more accessible if you’re based in the US and shopping US-based brands, or in Europe and shopping EU-based brands, and so on. Maybe I’ll venture and try again soon. Who knows XD

          Like

          • Thank you so much for this review,I am about to buy a bottega bag and I’m so anxious cuz the seller hasn’t responded.however I think you should do a review on staud bissette bags too,can’t wait!thank you so much again.love your blog!

            Like

          • Thank you so much for this review,I am about to buy a bottega bag and I’m so anxious cuz the seller hasn’t responded.however I think you should do a review on staud bissette bags too,can’t wait!thank you so much again.love your blog!

            Like

  3. Hi, I have read a few posts how do you see the quality and craftmanship of BV compared to Goyard, Moynat, Delvaux and Moreau? Which one do you think is at the top of the hierarchy and would any of them would be better than Hermes? In terms of pricing, could you rank them most to least expensive? Thanks.

    Like

    • Hi!

      Bottega has an outlet so it’s definitely more accessible! :)) And although the intrecciato weave makes the bag “handmade” and sturdier, I would say it’s not necessarily the sturdiest bag out there because the leather strips are still quite thin so I don’t know how well they’d hold up with really heavy things (though we’ve used it to carry my sister’s gigantic camera and lens and it has fared well so far), and the strips are not individually edge-finished (the edges are raw, at least for the small weaves–not sure about the oversized weaves on the recent flap bag of theirs). I would place it a tier or half tier below Moynat, Delvaux, and Moreau. And only the woven bags are more sure to be handmade–their bags that don’t have any weaving in it at all, might likely be machine-sewn already, which, to me, lowers the value of those bags.

      Not sure if any of the others mentioned have outlets. They’re all quite similar in pricing, I believe, but I don’t think Goyard is hand-stitched (not sure). Quality-wise, I think Moynat and Delvaux are comparable to Hermès but their prices aren’t as inflated yet. A huge reason for Hermès’ prices being so insanely high is hype and perceived rarity. I say “perceived” rarity because it’s actually a pretty common bag if you think about it, especially compared to the other brands. And I’m not always a fan of the people with whom the brand chooses to associate (*cough* Kardashians?! *cough*–not exactly who you associate with “luxury” and “class”), so there has always been a degradation of the brand for me, making their exorbitant prices seem ridiculous and not worth it (just IMHO haha). If you’re looking solely at quality at that tier of luxury handbags, then you’re better off with Moynat or Delvaux. Moreau for me is also very well made and of comparable quality, but a lot of their styles are more daytime/ workwear/ casual, rather than evening-able. They also have a lot of stuff that use larger/fatter threads and stitches (not as common in fine luxury goods but it’s what I use for my own bags as well), which might not look as refined as the smaller stitches but is actually a clearer mark of it being hand-sewn. As with anything, it’s about what would go best with your own personal taste/preference and style, and what you prioritize. For example, in my own bag-making, I choose the larger thread because I like using it as a design element and as a way to highlight the stitches–if you like that look then Moreau’s aesthetic might suit your style (it’s not for everyone, that’s for sure haha). Moynat and Delvaux use finer (smaller) threads and have a lot of very “classic” styles, especially Delvaux’s Brillant and Tempête bags and Moynat’s Rejane and Cabotin (Pauline is a classic too but for me it’s a bit too simple, not a statement bag). Very classic looks/ silhouettes. But they both also have quirky versions, such as art collabs (like Delvaux’s Magritte collection, which I love), or Moynat’s collab with Pharrell a few years ago. So those can be options if you’re looking for classic-with-a-twist. Now, if you’re looking at Hermès still, I’d say just research as much as you can in order to have the best chance of getting the style and material you want. Their purchasing/ordering process is a bit of a snobbish turnoff for me (like yes, we get it, you’re sooo exclusive), but I hear that pandemic times have actually made it easier to place an order in-store. So now might be a good time to look into it :)) Anyway, hope that answers your questions! Thanks!!

      Like

  4. I came across your blog and love the level of detail and knowledge here! There are so many details I never thought to even look for. I am thinking of getting a BV mens leather wallet as a gift, but I am concerned that it may not be very durable over time being kept in a pocket, especially given the large number of edges from the woven pattern and the possibility that the leather strips could be pulled loose. It generally seems like the handbags hold up fairly well from what I’ve read, but I imagine a wallet in a tight pocket may be subject to more stress. Any thoughts on this? Thank you so much.

    Like

    • That’s true, the leather is quite soft and thin, and even woven, might not fare well from constantly being put in and taken out of pockets. I’ve also seen a lot of BV woven bags being resold after having been recolored, because I think discoloration from friction might be a common occurrence, especially at the corners. Another idea is maybe looking at the newer version with the larger weave. If the leather is thicker/more rigid than the regular-sized weave, then it may be more suitable for in-and-out-of-pocket use.

      Thank you for your kind comments! ❤

      Like

Leave a comment