Acne Musubi Bag Honest Review

Happened to spot this goldenrod-ish yellow Acne Musubi bag on a sale shelf in Rinascente Milano (kind of sad how all those bags were just haphazardly stacked and on the floor) so I had to stop to inspect it whilst in the throng of a crazy holiday sale crowd (this was in late November, so like Thanksgiving ish? I don’t think Italy celebrates Thanksgiving but any reason for a sale, I guess haha)

The Musubi is one of the bags I’ve also really liked from afar, but in person, the quality is really not great. If this were in black, I’d probably give it a chance if the sale price were steeply discounted enough, but in this yellow, I couldn’t really see a place for it in my predominantly black closet :))

I really love this oversized knot, but that’s about the only positive… The leather feels so lightweight (in this case, not a positive–lightweight like it doesn’t feel like I’m getting any leather at all) and plasticky. Also, pretty much all of the seams are just glued, not sewn. The leather is glued onto the lining material (which looks like the same material), but not sewn together (similar to the abysmally-constructed Mansur Gavriel bucket), which means over time and with use, this will split apart

There’s a stitch here attaching the button closure of the bag, but you can see there aren’t any other stitches

Straps are slightly adjustable via gemini buttons on the side, under the knot

Dirty already 😦

Inside: a central zippered pocket, and a button closure for the main compartment

Serialized. (Also, I didn’t notice until now the Elleme Paris bag in the back. For another time haha)

The zippered compartment is attached to the inside of the bag via the reverse side of the shoulder strap on the exterior (they’re attached with the same stitches)

I think this one is the mini shoulder bag size, which is listed at 1350€ on their site. At that price, it really doesn’t feel worth it. Normally, I’d be understanding about the decisions to not add stitches to certain areas, but that’s usually if the leather is of really good quality, and if there’s no lining attached (like if it’s a raw finish interior, which I do like with good leathers). In this case, though, the quality of the leather is too poor that that price makes it seem like a bit of a cheat. I think I’m probably going to make a version of this with my own stash of Italian vegtan instead haha

Leave a comment