Bag at a Glance: Bottega Veneta Sardine Bag

OK so this tiny thing is 2700€ and might even fit less than the inane Jacquemus Le Chiquito -_- I’m struggling to understand how they arrived at this pricing. And look at my photo above compared to the website pic. I mean–

Online, it looks so sleek and solid, but in person, the weave isn’t super tight and the metallic leather is crinkly and cheap looking.

The Sardine bag is one of the recent Bottega bags that I’ve actually really liked from afar. I mean, a golden sardine handle! But even after looking through a few different size variations (forgot to take photos of the larger one), I didn’t really love it in person. This mini one is the worst though.

The larger one in a non-metallic leather actually looked ok, but the length of the shoulder strap was very odd, both the leather and chain options. It looked best just hand-carried via the top handle. I’m gonna take a look again when I go back, hopefully when it’s not peak sale time so that there’s a bit more room to breathe and time to really look around and inspect. I still wanna bring home that golden sardine haha

Leave a comment