Bottega Veneta Jodie Bag Honest Review

I’ve always found this to be an adorable shape, especially in this small handheld size. While I’ve generally had a positive experience with Bottega bags (I’ll include the links to my other Bottega posts below), there are certain bags or styles or elements that have not held up well.

For this size of bag in particular, I feel like the size of weave they used is too large, with a leather that’s too thin and flimsy. Because of the bag’s rounded shape, there are several areas where the looser, larger woven sections are lifting, showing just how loose the weave is.

I actually saw some of the newer styles (particularly some of the men’s totes and clutches–though I think there are women’s versions as well) made with what looked like a sleeker, slightly more robust leather that made the weave really stand out and look super tight.

Compare this:

to THIS:

(Photos of the Bottega Veneta twist clutch from the Printemps website)

It is also intrecciato weave in lambskin, but look how much tighter and more legit that looks compared to this Jodie (the large Sardine bag was of a similar sized-weave to this Jodie)

That aside, if you’re able to find the Jodie in a smaller weave, I think it would work better with its shape. You can really see so many sections where the weave is lifting. And the leather feels extra thin compared to the bags from less than 10 years ago. The mini Jodie is 2200€ based on Bottega’s site.

If you’re interested in checking out what else I’ve reviewed from Bottega:

Bottega Veneta Padded Cassette

Bottega Veneta Intrecciato Bags

Leave a comment